04 570-1444
1 Fairway Drive, Avalon PO Box 30368 Lower Hutt
GNS Science is a Crown-owned research and consultancy organisation focused on securing benefits for New Zealand from natural processes occurring in the Earth’s crust. By applying scientific knowledge across a wide range of disciplines, GNS Science creates wealth, protects the environment, and improves the safety of people. We are known internationally for our work in understanding earthquakes, volcanoes, landslides, and tsunamis and in advising on measures to mitigate the physical, economic, and social impacts of these hazards. Other areas include providing specialist geoscience input for oil and gas exploration, development of geothermal energy, groundwater management, and mineral resources. We are a leader in exploring and understanding the ocean floor and its resources in New Zealand's offshore territory. We have unrivalled expertise in environmental and industrial isotopes which includes developing X-ray scanning devices for industry, stable isotope analysis for environmental applications, nanotechnology, and radiocarbon dating. Clients include central and local government agencies in New Zealand, primary sector processing industries, the oil and gas exploration industry, geothermal energy companies, insurance and reinsurance companies, engineers and infrastructure companies, museums, and scientific research organisations in New Zealand and overseas. About half of our annual revenue is derived from long-term government contracts for core science and public good research. The rest is derived from consultancy and laboratory services. We employ 400 staff with offices in Lower Hutt, Taupo, and Dunedin. GNS Science has existed as a Crown Research Institute since 1992. However, through our predecessor organisations, we have a 160-year heritage of excellence in earth science. We operate as a stand-alone company with our own Board of Directors and with shares held by the New Zealand government. Board members are appointed for a three-year term by the shareholding ministers – the Minister of Science and Innovation, and the Minister of Finance.