04 830 4279
Wellington Region Emergency Management Office c/- Greater Wellington Regional Council PO Box 11646 Wellington
The Wellington Region Emergency Management Office (WREMO) is a semi-autonomous organisation that co-ordinates Civil Defence and Emergency Management services on behalf of the nine councils in the Wellington region. During an emergency, the Wellington Region can activate up to six Emergency Operations Centres. These are located in Wellington, Hutt City, Upper Hutt, Wairarapa, Porirua and Kapiti. The Emergency Operation Centres are run by the relevant council, with support from the wider CDEM Group. WREMO staff support the activated centres. WREMO’s Community Resilience Team works with communities to empower them to help one another in an emergency through a number of activities and also provide Business Continuity training for small to medium businesses and emergency planning workshops for a variety of sectors.